Volume ! Issue 2 June 23, 2011



MALCOLM HEINS HAS ANNOUNCED HIS RETIREMENT

effective January 1, 2012 from the Law Society as C.E.O.,
a position he has held since 2000.
He has well served the Profession at LawPro,
The Federation of Law Societies of Canada
and the Law Society for over 17 years.
His steady hand and dedication will be missed
and hard to replace.
A recruitment/search process is under way.

BENCHER RETREAT — HAVE YOUR SAY:

Benchers will be attending a planning session in September. Email back at lbanack@kmlaw.ca to tell me what you believe should be:

- 1) the top priorities for the Law Society in the coming years;
- 2) changed or stopped at the Law Society.

2011 BENCHER ELECTION: Over 97% of the 15,592 votes were cast by internet. The good news, perhaps because of internet voting and the number of vacancies created by incumbent Benchers not seeking re-election, is that voter turnout increased to 37.12%. Although that is a positive 10% increase over the 2007 election, it is a far cry from the voter turnout in the early 90's which exceeded 53%. Perhaps not surprisingly but of potential consequence in such an election, most recent calls were the least represented in voter turnout and the highest percentage of voter turnout by size of firm was in firms of 5 practitioners and more. A comprehensive study of the election results and voter turnout statistics from 1987 to 2011 is available from the Law Society.

DOCTOR OF LAWS: The Law Society has awarded this honorary degree during Call to the Bar Ceremonies to Marion Boyd, former Ontario Attorney General; Justice Robert Sharpe of the Ontario Court of Appeal and Professor John McCamus, Chair of Legal Aid Ontario, Board of Directors.

REGULATORY COMPLAINTS: The annual number of complaints, the type of complaints and the breakdown of complaints received by firm size has remained relatively constant since 2006. Approximately 6,700-6,800 complaints have been received annually in each of the last five years.

COMMITTEE CHAIRS/VICE-CHAIRS: The Treasurer has now appointed members of Convocation to the following committees chaired by the Benchers indicated:

Access to Justice	Chair:	Marion Boyd	Law Society Awards	Chair:	Laurie Pawlitza
Appeal Panel	Chair:	Mark Sandler	Litigation Committee	Chair:	John Campion
Audit Committee	Chair:	Christopher Bredt	Paralegal Standing Committee	Chair:	Cathy Corsetti
Compensation Committee	Chair:	Laurie Pawlitza	Priority Planning Committee	Chair:	Laurie Pawlitza
Compensation Fund	Chair:	Susan McGrath	Proceedings Authorization Committee	Chair:	Julian Porter
Equity and Aboriginal Issues	Chair:	Janet Minor	Professional Development Committee	Chair:	Thomas Conway
Finance	Chair:	Carol Hartman	Professional Regulation	Chair:	Paul Schabas
Government Relations	Co-Chairs:	Julian Porter Christopher Bredt	Tribunals	Chair:	Raj Anand
Heritage Committee	Chair:	Constance Backhouse	Human Rights Monitoring Group	Chair:	Paul Schabas
Inter-Jurisdictional Mobility	Chair:	Thomas Conway	Retention of Women	Co-Chairs:	Laurie Pawlitza Thomas Conway

HAVE A HAPPY, HEALTHY AND SAFE SUMMER!



CONVOCATION REPORTS: All reports to Convocation can be viewed at http://www.lsuc.on.ca In order to more fully understand the issues facing Convocation, you may wish to review previous editions of Banack's Bencher News at http://www.kmlaw.ca/publications

If you would like to either receive this newsletter via email or be removed from the subscription list, please send a message with your instructions to subscribe@kmlaw.ca