## Banack's Bencher News #70

Volume 4 Issue 1 Larry Banack, Certified by the Law Society as a Specialist in Civil Litigation Member of the ADR Institute of Ontario

June 28, 2007

**BENCHER ELECTIONS:** I thank those of you who voted in the 2007 Bencher Election. I am very grateful and excited to have been re-elected. Below you will find the names of the elected Benchers, 11 of whom will be sitting in Convocation for the first time. Detailed election results are posted on the Law Society website: <a href="http://www.lsuc.on.ca">http://www.lsuc.on.ca</a>

Toronto				
MacKenzie, Gavin	Gottlieb, Gary Lloyd	Ruby, Clayton	Rothstein, Linda, LSM	
Porter, Julian, Q.C.	Aaron, Bob	Pawlitz, Laurie	Banack, Larry	
Anand, Raj, LSM	Gold, Alan D.	Minor, Janet E.	Heintzman, Thomas G., O.C., Q.C.	
Curtis, Carole	Millar, Derry	Dickson, Mary Louise, Q.C.	Symes, Beth, LSM	
Sandler, Mark J.	Schabas, Paul	Tough, Bonnie A.	Campion, John A.	
Outside Toronto				
Lewis, Hon. Doug	Swaye, Gerald A., Q.C.	Henderson, Paul J.	Conway, Thomas	
Hartman, Carol	Pustina, Nicholas John, Q.C.	Caskey, James R., Q.C.	Backhouse, Constance, LSM	
Aitken, Melanie L.	Carpenter-Gunn, Kim	McGrath, Susan T.	Ross, Heather Joy	
Warkentin, Bonnie R.	Crowe, Marshall A.	Halajian, Jennifer	Hare, Susan M.	
St. Lewis, Joanne	Potter, Judith M.	Wright, Bradley H.	Silverstein, Alan G.	

**LAY BENCHER APPOINTMENTS:** The Attorney General has appointed/re-appointed the following Lay Benchers for a 4 year term:

Dr. Aslam Daud Seymour Epstein (reappointed) Rabbi Dow Marmur Jack Rabinovitch
Baljit Sikand Cathy Strosberg Marion Boyd (reappointed) Ab Chabar (reappointed)

**TREASURER ELECTION:** Congratulations to Gavin McKenzie who was acclaimed to serve an additional year as Treasurer. The Treasurer completed the unexpired term created by the resignation of George Hunter and had been elected for one year. However, in order to be eligible as a Treasurer candidate, it was necessary that Mr. McKenzie run in the recent election. It is a significant benefit to Convocation that the Treasurer's tenure will thus extend into the first year of the term for the many newly elected Benchers. With the Treasurer's acclamation, a vacancy was created that was filled by Ms. Avvy Go.

**WOMEN BENCHERS:** 19 of the 40 elected Benchers this term are women; the highest number elected in Law Society history. In 2003, 11 women were elected.

**BENCHER/ELECTION ORIENTATION:** A disappointing small turn out of 34% of the profession (compared with (42% in 1999, 39% in 2003) elected the members of Convocation. It had been hoped that there would a better turnout in this election as lawyers could vote electronically through email (45%) or by telephone (4%), rather than merely by mail (51%). A series of orientation and educational sessions have been held for newly elected Benchers in order to facilitate their transition so that Convocation can continue to govern the profession in the public interest as required by its Role Statement.

**PARALEGAL REGULATION:** Effective May 1, 2007, the Law Society now regulates all legal service providers, including independent paralegals. Two paralegals will sit in Convocation. Testing and qualification protocol is presently being implemented in order that paralegals will be subject to Law Society oversight.

**COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS:** Treasurer MacKenzie has made the following appointments as Chair/Vice-Chair of the Committees noted:

Access to Justice: Marion Boyd & Judith Potter	Appeal Panel: Mark Sandler	
Audit: Beth Symes/Marshall Crowe	Compensation Fund: Bradley Wright	
Equity & Aboriginal Issues: Joanne St. Lewis/Raj Anand	Finance: Derry Millar/Bradley Wright	
Governance Task Force: Tom Heintzman/Vern Krishna	Government Relations: James Caskey & Doug Lewis/Laurie Pawlitza	
Hearing Panel: Larry Banack/Bonnie Warkentin	Heritage: Connie Backhouse/Gary Gottlieb	
Law Foundation of Ontario: Larry Banack	LawPro Board: Kim Carpenter-Gunn	
LibraryCo Board: Abe Feinstein	Licensing & Accreditation Task Force: Vern Krishna	
Litigation: Allan Rock	Paralegal: Paul Dray/Bonnie Warkentin	
Proceedings Authorization: Julian Porter/Beth Symes	Priority Planning: Gavin MacKenzie/Tom Heintzman	
Professional Development/Competence: Laurie Pawlitza/Connie	Professional Regulation: Clayton Ruby/Heather Ross, Julian Porter &	
Backhouse, Mary Louise Dickson & Alan Silverstein	Linda Rothstein	
Tribunals: Mark Sandler/Bonnie Warkentin		

In order to more fully understand the issues facing Convocation, you may wish to review previous editions of Banack's Bencher News at http://www.kmlaw.ca/publications/banacks\_bencher\_news\_home.aspx.

IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO RECEIVE THIS NEWSLETTER VIA E-MAIL, SEND A MESSAGE TO: <a href="mailto:subscribe@kmlaw.ca">subscribe@kmlaw.ca</a> PLEASE INCLUDE THE NAME OF THIS NEWSLETTER AND YOUR E-MAIL ADDRESS.

IF YOU HAVE ANY TRANSMISSION DIFFICULTIES WITH RESPECT TO THIS NEWSLETTER OR WISH NAMES ADDED OR DELETED, PLEASE RETURN THIS PAGE BY FAX TO (416) 204-2824.